ieltsInternational English Language Testing System is a standardized test designed to measure English language proficiency of students who want to enroll in universities or professionals who want to practice or gain experience in an English-speaking country. There are two versions of the IELTS: The Academic version and the general training version.

The Academic Version is intended for those who want to enroll in universities and other institutions of higher education and for professionals such as medical doctors and nurses who want to study or practise in an English-speaking country.

The General Training Version is intended for those planning to undertake non-academic training or to gain work experience, or for immigration purposes.

Who Accepts IELTS

IELTS is accepted by most Australian, British, Canadian, Irish, New Zealand and South African academic institutions, over 3,000 academic institutions in the United States, and various professional organizations. It is also a requirement for immigration to Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

Structure of the Test


Prospective post graduate or undergraduate students and those seeking professional registration

General training

Immigrate to UK, Australia, Canada, New Zealand & To Study Below degree level


4 Sections, 40 items, approximately 30 minutes

Academic reading

3sections, 40 items, 60 minutes

General training reading

3 sections, 40 items, 60 minutes

Academic writing

2 tasks, 60 minutes

General training writing

2 tasks, 60 minutes


11 to 14 minutes

Total test time

2 hours 44 minutes


Scoring is done on a band of 0 – 9. 7 is considered a safe band to score. The score is valid for 2 years.